Redpath wins sprints

Posted by

The opening race meeting for the season in the state’s south finished with amazing racing and Jason Redpathclaiming victory in the 30-lap Sprintcarfinal.
Nanjing Night Net

ON FIRE: Jason Redpath on his way to winning the 30-lap sprint car final in the south. Picture: Angryman Photography

Gerry Hoekstra and Redpath shared the front row with Hoekstra getting the better start from the outside with an aggressive move that paid dividends. He maintained an early command of the race opening a handy buffer which shorteneddue to lapped traffic just under ten laps in.Several cautions made Hoekstra work overtime on the restarts as several drivers spun in separate incidents.

In the closing laps the battle intensified with both cars coming together in turn two on several occasions. Redpath kept lookingfor a way pastand eventually found it with six laps left by executing a brilliant passing move on the high line with Kurt Luttrell third. Formula 500’s were won by Rick Weatherall who had placed in each of his heats and was on the pace early. Gary Sutcliffe drove to a fine second place ahead of Dale Peck. Jakobe Jetson had his first meeting for the season and picked up where he left off with his fast, smooth driving style that took him to victory ahead of Ellis Dickenson and Jayden Triffet.

The Bombers first event of the year saw some drivers holding a grudge over the off-season. Only a handful of cars survived the night to complete in the final with Kylie Jetson greeting the chequered flag ahead of Fred Eiszelle and Dennis Davidson. Drew Manser was successful in Tassie Sixes from Todd Russell and Damien Wickham. Speedcars had timed runs and while still a new category of racing with low numbers the category will grow.Mitchell Freeman was on pace winning the final ahead of Trent Blake and Kerry Short. The season continues next weekend on the North-West coast.

RESULTS: Bombers: Heat 1: T.Bennett 1, F.Eiszele 2, K.Jetson 3, Heat 2: K.Jetson 1, D.Hay 2, F.Eiszele 3, A-Main: F.Eiszele 1, K.Jetson 2, D.Davidson 3. Formula 500s: Heat 1: R.Weatherall 1, M.Kelly 2, G.Sutcliffe 3, Heat 2: D.Peck 1, R.Weatherall 2, C.Dransfield 3, A-Main: R.Weatherall 1, G.Stucliffe 2, D.Peck 3. Junior Sedans: Heat 1: J.Triffett 1, E.Dickenson 2, J.White 3, Heat 2: J.Jetson 1, J.Dickerson 2, J.Triffett 3, Heat 3: J.Jetson 1, E.Dickenson 2, B.Kelly 3, A-Main: J.Jetson 1, E.Dickenson 2, J.Triffett 3. Speedcars: Heat 1: M.Freeman 1, T.Blake 2, K.Short 3, Heat 2: T.Blake 1, M.Freeman 2, K.Short 3, A- Main: M.Freeman 1, T.Blake 2, K.Short 3. Sprintcars: Heat 1: J.Redpath 1, J.Dawkins 2, T.Watson 3, Heat 2: C.Smith 1, M.House 2, K.Luttrell 3, Heat 3: G.Hoekstra 1, A.Redpath 2, A.Alexander 3, A-Main: J.Redpath 1, G.Hoekstra 2, K.Luttrell 3. Tassie Sixes: Heat 1: D.Manser 1, A.Wickham 2, C.Briggs 3, Heat 2: C.Briggs 1, D.Manser 2, A.Wickham 3, A-Main: D.Manser 1,T.Russell 2, A.Wickham 3.

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.